Upcoming Projects September/October 2016

I’ve been writing since I can remember. I’ve had a love-hate relationship with the idea of writing full-time and potentially being a starving artist. I strayed, but I couldn’t stay away. Some days ideas fill my head and I can’t function until I pick up a pen and a sheet of paper. I officially had my first novel idea in 2012. I started, wrote more than 20,000, then let life get in the way. I’ve written some other things since then; blog posts, SEO articles as a ghostwriter, poetry and short stories. Last year I became fed up and engaged in much prayer and reflection to figure out what the heck I was doing with my life and what kind of example I was setting for my young daughter. One year ago in October, I got the wake-up call and opportunity of a lifetime that prompted me to take steps towards using my natural-born talents as a writer. Should I pursue slam poetry? Maybe I should start a blog. I already had blogs that I had abandoned…why start another? Maybe I should just get back into the habit of writing, period. Well, it seems only fitting to announce the release of two completed projects during the month that I officially began my literary pursuit. The first is my debut novel (technically a novella) Reflection in the Music. Here’s a little synopsis:

Book cover 4

Melissa is lost and hasn’t the first clue of where to find herself. Pea can’t let go of her past mistakes, which is suffering her present and future. Sherri thrives on her vanity, but even the most vain finds herself falling short. Jane just wants to start over and make amends, but how does one mend a broken heart? Life has a funny way of connecting the lost and confused. Some mistakes are meant to be made and some wounds aren’t meant to be healed. Some wounds don’t want to heal. Despite the shortcomings and differences, these ladies find themselves all singing the same tune. Beauty, passion, art, fear and love all had their hands in the composition of the ladies’ song—a song that reveals the deepest layer of each one’s being.

My second project is a collection of short stories, some of which I have published on this blog. It is entitled Sunlight, Coffee and Roses. Here’s the synopsis:

sunshine coffee roses cover 1

SHE could be anybody. In some instances, SHE could even be HE. Her spirit is universal, as are her day to day epiphanies. In this collection of short stories, an entirely different perspective is revealed in a series of wake-up calls results in smelling the coffee, basking in the sunlight and stopping to smell the roses.

My book covers are tentative, but I designed them myself, which is a first for me. I normally create using words, not pictures. These projects have been and still are labors of love. I’m not sure what type of reception I expect to receive, but I pray that whoever chooses to read it enjoys what they read. Reflection in the Music has been four years in the making. The characters have lived with me and grown with me. I hope that readers will come to love them as I have. With that said, you can check out my Books page to pre-order an autographed paperback and read sample chapters. I will also make an e-book version of both titles available. For all of my supporters and visitors I have gained so far, I couldn’t be more appreciative of the time you’ve given to reading what I write. Thank you.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joann bennett
    Sep 08, 2016 @ 04:17:19

    i like both book covers…creative and I love the colors

    Reply

  2. Gemma
    Sep 14, 2016 @ 18:13:30

    Wow, sounds like 2 great projects 🙂 and I love your blog layout btw! Looking forward to seeing more of your blog, hope you’ll check out/follow mine https://myhappycornerblog.wordpress.com 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Me and My Books

Books, book reviews and book thoughts

Heat Block Publications

Burning This Industry Up, One Book At A Time

Diamond M'Press Literary Blog

Classy and upscale publishing house dedicated to helping authors exceed their own expectations.

Curling up with a Page Turner

Escaping reality one book at a time...

Unexpected Paths

Random thoughts about writing and the writing life of Phyllis Anne Duncan

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing & self publishing

Arkana Blog

A branch of Arkana from the observant and overlooked

ronaldpaxton

In my own words - an author's life

P.L. Cobb

Creating fiction, art, and other types of magic.

Resting Bitch Personality

It's just the way my brain is when I'm relaxing.

Keeper of Pages

[Mostly] Crime, Mystery & Thriller book reviews, ramblings & more!

The Confused Soul

As we all love a little bit of everything

Privacy in Public

A xicana who is just trying to get the words out

Dark Fiction By Kyla Ross

Horror and suspense flash fiction, short stories, and novels

blackgirldown. com™

A fabulous black woman living under the cloud of depression and the stigma that comes along with it!

The universe speaks. Follow me as I learn to listen.

The universe speaks. Follow me as I learn to listen.

Enette's World

Writing things into existence

