A Few Thoughts on I Did A New Thing by Tabitha Brown

I haven’t finished reading I Did a New Thing yet. I’m not entirely sure I will. It isn’t because the book is bad. It’s quite the opposite. I’m a fan of Tabitha Brown’s, and I have enjoyed reading this book with her voice in mind–I listened to the audio version of her book Feeding the Soul, and I actually found it disappointing because it felt more like she was just reading the book instead of telling her story. This book is written exactly the way that she speaks. 

The message is clear: Don’t be afraid to try new things in your life because they may turn out to be the best things you’ve ever tried. This book presents the message as a 30-day challenge to try something new every day. Each chapter represents a new day. There are challenges, like trying a new food or a new style of clothing. She includes anecdotes from friends and family about how they tried new things they were afraid of, seemingly simple things that were major to them. For instance, one person told a story about how they feared wearing jeans. That fear stemmed from an insecurity about the shape of their body. Deciding to address the underlying issue—because the real issue was not the jeans—changed that person’s life for the better.

It is a very positive and uplifting book. Here’s why I don’t think I’ll be finishing the book anytime soon: I think just opening the book and reading the first couple of chapters was enough for me to get the gist of what she wanted to convey. And honestly, I think that’s all I needed. 

Combine this book with Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes, and I feel as though I’m ready to make anything and everything happen. 

Year of Yes is the May book club pick. Read more about my book club here.

I enjoyed Shonda Rhimes’ memoir quite a bit, although she could be a bit dramatic at times. Then again, this is the person who writes shows like Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, How to Get Away with Murder, et cetera. All of these shows are very dramatic. However, the main point of Shonda’s book was that she decided to say yes to loving herself and living her life more abundantly. I think that is amazing because, in my opinion, most people don’t do that. 

This isn’t really meant to be a review for either book though. It is meant to be a vehicle for what I actually want to say about some of the current happenings in my life. I am working on this book club thing. A couple of new faces have appeared in the Fable group, which I am very excited about. I have revamped my efforts to sell on eBay and Mercari again, plus I recently learned about a platform called PangoBooks where folks like me can buy and sell used books, which is awesome. I set up a small bookshop there. Overall, I feel myself moving into a space that is more comfortable. More on that in the next paragraph.

Comfort can be a killer. I’ve spent a great deal of my life so far being uncomfortable, and that sucks, too. As a result, I think I’ve tried more things than most people. At times, that has left me feeling bad about myself because those things don’t always work out, and then other people who may not be into risk-taking look at me and wonder, “Why?” 

Now I am feeling more comfortable with who I am as a person. I am more comfortable with being uncomfortable and acknowledging my strengths and weaknesses. I am more comfortable making decisions, saying, doing, wearing, and being what I intend with my chest. It is a wonderful feeling.

I have some really good people talking to me and encouraging me. This life is short. And even though I’d love the security of the more well-trodden path, I know I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t do the opposite. A good friend of mine, who is one of the best in the world at giving pep talks, told me that not everybody is as brave as me. Some folks have negative things to say about my choices because they really feel that way about themselves and because they lack the nerves to try something new or pursue their actual talents. I think he’s right. And I would be doing myself a disservice if I continued to not honor my gifts.

So, I’ll probably finish I Did a New Thing eventually. I’m not in a hurry. 

Year of Yes, I’ll give it 4 out of 5 stars.


Support the blog!

Paypal: https://www.paypal.me/letarawrites

Cashapp: $LeTaraWrites

Buy my book! – https://payhip.com/letarawritesbooks

My recipe blog – Flavor Delicious

My tarot blog – The Gifted Reader

Facebook – https://facebook.com/letarawrites

My bookstore – https://pangobooks.com/bookstore/letarawrites773443

My eBay store – https://www.ebay.com/usr/tarameshale89


Ebony Page Turners Book Club

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/1240333-ebony-page-turners

Fable – fable.co/club/ebony-page-turners-with-letarawrites-302800552632?club_type=free 

Bookclubs.com – https://bookclubs.com/clubs/6031601/join/20d731 

One thought on “A Few Thoughts on I Did A New Thing by Tabitha Brown

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.